Victory for the Queens of Fail

Did anyone else see this???

I’m guessing a lot of people did. If you’re a Big Bang Theory fan, you realize just how epic it is.

I’ve found myself watching this a lot in the past 48 hours (seriously, a lot), but I couldn’t put my finger on why I was watching it so much until now:

I can relate to Amy.

In fact, if I were to choose characters from various TV shows that reminded me of me in some way, Amy would definitely make the list. Nothing goes right for Amy. Her past has been a mishmash of awkwardness; she’s never been at the top of anyone’s list (as we learn when she’s offered the maid of honor position for Bernadette’s wedding). When these things do start falling into place, she genuinely appreciates them because she’s never had them before.

And of course there’s Sheldon. Although Amy feels she’s hit the proverbial jackpot of boyfriends, she still faces a long uphill battle: patience versus intimacy. Sometimes she’s good at being patient with Sheldon. More often, though, her desire for something deeper with him is only thinly veiled.

I think that’s why I love this scene so much. So often, I am the Queen of Fail. I have good intentions, and I’m hoping for a positive outcome, but things just blow up in my face. And that’s where Amy is here. Once again, she’s trying to nudge Sheldon into something more, only to have it blow up in her face. And then there’s the added insult of Sheldon mocking her romantic aspirations, which he seems to feel are shallow. However, at the last minute, it becomes clear that something powerfully deep has been there all along, and it’s suddenly very visible. The trip–and the relationship–are changed for the better.

So, for what it’s worth, I want to say “kudos” to The Big Bang Theory, for reminding the Queens of Fail like me that sometimes the best things can come from even the worst mistakes.

One thought on “Victory for the Queens of Fail

  1. I like Amy….. the kiss was epic.

Leave a Reply

