Like cold water…

Like cold water to a weary soul is good news . . .
-Prov. 25:25 NIV

Hello world.

I have big news: I have actually had a good week this week. 

I realize that sounds kind of lame, so I’ll explain as much as I can without going into specifics.

First, Mr. Miles and I have been stuck in a pretty toxic social environment for a least the last year. For me personally, the environment had become detrimental even before that. But this is one of those situations where we didn’t know what to do. We tried to stick it out because we felt that maybe we were supposed to. But, the longer we stayed, the more the social environment became entangled with our professional lives, and the higher the stakes became if we left–until we felt kind of hemmed in no matter what path we chose. In part of this tangled web, a bad (and quite prejudiced) report was issued regarding Mr. Miles. The report went to one of his supervisors. Thinking back, I don’t know that a better thing could have happened, considering that this supervisor knows both parties and therefore, both sides of the story. Ironically, this bad report opened up a great dialogue with the supervisor. He sympathized with Mr. Miles, confirmed our feelings that we should leave, and pointed us to some positive alternative options. For the first time, we feel real clarity about the situation and hope for a future beyond it.

The other good news was a case of change happening right when I needed it. My finances will be changing next year, and my current income wouldn’t support it. So I had been seeking a way to improve or supplement my income to bear the weight of that load. I wasn’t having any luck, and the longer my bad luck streak went, the more worried I became. It was incredibly disheartening to feel more and more panic as I kept hitting a wall. Well, out of the blue, earlier this week, I was offered a raise. It was a total surprise. I crunched the numbers and discovered that the raise would be just enough to cover my additional expenses. I won’t have much extra money, but I’m used to that.

So yeah, just goes to show, you never know what the universe is up to. 🙂

Leave a Reply

