Top Albums

I started to make this a Top 10 List…then it became a Top 20 list.

I then realized I haven’t listened to even half the music in the world to make an authoritative list–only a personal one. So, it’s probably just easiest to call it Top Albums in My Music Collection. In no particular order:

  • OneRepublic: Waking Up. Awesome album. It has a great range from classical melodic, to light rock, to ballad. It covers the gamut. I have multiple favorites on this record, so I could easily put up 4 or 5 links, but the song that made me want the album was “Secrets.”
  • Coldplay: Rush of Blood to the Head. Coldplay has put out a lot of great albums, and I have them all. Still, I have a soft spot for this one, followed closely  by “Parachutes” and “X&Y.” This album had some really great singles. I’ve never been a huge fan of the first track (a little too bang bang bang-ey for me), but it’s a solid album. I am an absolute sucker for a pretty riff (this also applies to my previous bullet song choice), so my track of choice would be “In My Place.”
  • Superchick: Rock What You Got. Again, another album with great range. I have all their albums, and it’s really cool to see the metamorphosis the band has gone through from their first album through now, and it was cool to see them nominated for a Grammy with this one. This one is an especially excellent driving album. I’m pretty sure I listened to this album for at least 3 months straight when it came out. Track of choice: “Rock What You Got.”
  • Muse: Absolution. This is an album for someone who can appreciate both classical and rock genres, because it seamlessly seems to blend them, especially on certain tracks. This one stayed in rotation in my car for quite awhile. Track of choice: “Hysteria.”
  • Switchfoot: Nothing Is Sound. This album makes generational cynicism and angst sound so cool. Pretty much the whole album is solid for good sing-along tracks. Track of Choice: “Lonely Nation.”
  • Ingrid Michaelson: Girls and Boys. I unfortunately didn’t discover Ingrid, my housemate (who also has pretty good music taste) did. However, thankfully, she let me rip a copy of this album, and it’s been one of my favs. I’m honestly kind of surprised more people haven’t heard of Ingrid cause she’s awesome. Track of Choice: “Breakable.”
  • Train: Save Me San Francisco. I realize what I newb I sound like with this being the newest album on the whole list. What can I say? I don’t follow Top 40 culture as much as I used to. “Drops of Jupiter” used to be my favorite Train album, but it’s really hard to argue with the catchiness of this one (and it has several great singles). It sucks you in, in a good way. Track of Choice: “If It’s Love.”
  • Ben Pasley: Chair and Microphone, Vol. 1. I think this may be one of the rawest albums I own. I love all the songs on it. It is what it says: chair and mic (ok, and in this case, guitar). I also highly recommend Aaron Strumpel’s Chair and Mic Vol. 2 album. Track of Choice: “Pieces.” I literally cannot find a video for this anywhere, so Grooveshark will have to do.

   http://grooveshark.com/#!/album/Chair+and+Microphone+Vol+1/4573126

  • Cake: Comfort Eagle. This is just a fun album that will make you smile. And the songs stay in your head. Track of Choice: “Opera Singer.”
  • Landon Pigg: Coffee Shop and LP. I really like both of these albums, so it’s really hard to judge one as being superior over the other. Very laid back, easygoing music. And the track that got me interested in him in the first place is very sweet with one of those darned pretty riffs, hence making it my track of choice (but don’t let that keep you from checking out both albums): “Falling in Love at a Coffee Shop.”
  • Fireflight: Unbreakable. This is a hard rocking album with some strong songs. It was my go to during some tough and lonely days. Track of Choice: “Wrapped in Your Arms.”
  • David Crowder Band: Illuminate. I admit, I haven’t listened to this album in awhile, but it is still a favorite. This was my soundtrack for a couple of summers. It has a good range. Track of Choice: “Revolutionary Love.”
  • Starfield: Starfield and Beauty in the Broken. I would be lying if I didn’t admit I used to listen to a lot of Starfield. After 3 albums, I kind of fell off. But they still have some great music. Both of these albums are great. “Over My Head” is my favorite track on Starfield, and I think “My Generation” would probably be top of the list for the second album.
  • Robbie Seay Band: Better Days. For male vocals, my favorites are two types, and they are extremes of each other. The first type is the ultra-vibrato, smooth vocal (like Aaron Neville or Kevin Max). The second type is the raw, gritty vocal (like Chris Cornell or Robbie Seay). This is a great laid-back album with some solid songs and a nice gritty vocal. It’s a good album to listen to going for a drive in the spring or summer. Track of Choice: “Breathing Air Again.”
  • Hootie and the Blowfish: Cracked Rear View. I know, this album is old as crap now, but doesn’t mean the album is crap. It’s got some of my favorite sing-along songs (although that movie “Ted” kinda ruined “I Only Wanna Be with You”). A good bluesy record. And I must say, I’m really glad that when Darius Rucker decided to do country, he didn’t try to “fakey twang” up his voice, because I would’ve been very mad at him. Track of Choice: “Let Her Cry.”
  • Mainstay: Well-Meaning Fiction. This one was another that a friend introduced to me. I like the mellow tone of this album. If I’m having a blue day, this is a good soundtrack. But besides that, it’s a good album. Track of Choice: “Overnight on Nicollet.” There was an amateur video for this on Youtube, but it was so awful I couldn’t post it, so to Grooveshark!

   grooveshark.com/album/Well+Meaning+Fiction/637573

  • Fastball: All the Pain Money Can Buy. This was one of the first albums I ever bought, and over ten years later, I still don’t get tired of it. Track of Choice: “The Way” (though “Ocean” from a later album is a lot of fun).
Leave a Reply

