Turning Pages

I gave my resignation notice at my current job today. I’ll start a new job at the end of the month.

Is it okay to admit I’m nervous? Current job: provided financially, got me some experience. New job: will be a bit tight financially for the first three months, then will provide more or less equivalent to current job; will also give me lots of experience; this location is a startup so there is much promise of what could be…it just hasn’t had a chance to get there yet.

I have many faults that I am aware of, and many more that I’m sure I don’t know about yet. One of them is my penchant to take the path of least resistance. Usually, that’s not too hard for me in moral terms (not always); however, in day to day life-living terms, it is always hard. I’d rather stick to what I know; for that matter, I’d rather stick to what I’m good at. I’d rather be safe than sorry. I’d rather start early than finish late. Basically any of those “rather” type sayings could be applied to me. I have a fear of pushing myself because I believe I’ll set myself up to fail.

Even with this job, although I know it’s the best thing to do right now, I find myself already nervous. Will I fail? Will the money be enough? It’s like the minute I choose to stick my neck out there, my mind is already playing devil’s advocate.

I’ve heard the advice: When you make a decision, commit to it and don’t look back. I agree. I don’t know when my nerves will go away, but I’m going to keep looking ahead, despite them.

Leave a Reply

