I’m a Survivor . . .

What a week. I went from having so little to do that I was almost bored to having so much I was overwhelmed, haha. For those considering seminary, I would emphasize what you’ve probably already heard: it’s not for the faint of heart. Which I guess would exclude me, except that even though I get overwhelmed really easily, I also usually stick through things. I’m sure any graduate program you go into is like this, but I can only speak from experience in seminary. Even just after one week, I can see how people take longer than 3 years to get an MDiv. There’s usually a lot required of you in every class, so when you put them all together, it becomes a scary load . . . I’m actually thinking I may end up taking longer than 3 years, but I guess we’ll see. I just know yesterday I had Biblical Foundations (in which something major is due like every week because it only meets once a week), and after that I was practically paralyzed. I only had one class that I hadn’t been to yet, and it was this morning. I walked in thinking, “If this one is as hard as some of the others, I will go into a hole and cry.” Fortunately it wasn’t, though. I talked with one of my friends in Admissions today though and she told me the first week of seminary is generally the hardest and that after her first week she wanted to quit, haha. So at least I’m not alone.

Right now I’m taking a break and celebrating. I’m in Greek this semester and we have to know the alphabet by Tuesday. I’m not sure if that just means recitation, or if that also means recognizing and writing the letters, too. But I can now recite it. So, though it’s a small victory, I figured it was still worth celebrating. (“Boogie Shoes” is just one of those fun songs you can always break out and dance around to when you’re happy.)

I can already tell this time in Canada is going to be something else. My roommates and friends are fun. My schedule is packed (I still don’t know how I’m gonna have time for everything without going crazy). There have already been both hard times and fun times. God’s going to teach me a lot I’m sure, just about relying on Him. Even in my work ethic (I tend to not pace myself, and try to do everything in one fell swoop. I don’t know how long I’ll be able to function like that here). And–get this–my mom just told me she’s applying for a passport. I can tell you right now if I had never come here, that never would have happened. So in me expanding my own horizons, the horizons of those around me are being expanded, too. It’s pretty cool.

So, basically, after my first week in seminary, I am:
-petrified
-overwhelmed
-nervous
-excited
-hopeful
-anticipating

Anyways, I need to cut this off. I’ve got an 8:00 in the morning. (Yeah, a little sidenote to those of you at MC–be glad you have a big enough school with enough classes and professors that you have the option of class times later than 8:00 a.m. It’s definitely one of those blessings I miss about 6:00 a.m. Tuesday, Wednesday, and Friday mornings haha. That’s the only downside to this school I’ve seen so far, though, and it’s not even a big deal. I guess we all have to sacrifice something).

3 thoughts on “I’m a Survivor . . .

  1. Don’t give up! God never gives us more than we can handle. Sometimes it doesn’t seem like we can handle it all, but that is when we need to turn to Him!! You’ll do great and I’ll be praying for you!

Leave a comment