So…what has happened in the past week or so…


Well, for one, the Boo was finally painted. It looked so amazing I was inspired to rename it (technically, I re-dubbed it). Behold…



The Boomerang.


Best part ot the Boomerang versus the Boo? The trunk lid. Only those who knew what it looked like before will fully appreciate the following glorious sight:






Also, there is an addition to the long list of my friends who are in serious relationships, engaged, soon-to-be-married, and all that–my friend Jonathan Raffini is now officially engaged to Rebekah Walker. I know both of them through Canada missions, and can vouch that they’re both awesome people and I’m thrilled for them. (Jonathan, I was thinking the other day when you told me about the engagement that “Rebekah Raffini” just kinda rolls off the tongue; it’s pretty cool.) So if you know them, or even if you don’t, drop by his Xanga and congratulate the guy.



As of today, I have 1 month, 1 week til I leave for Canada. Very soon I will have to start writing out my manifest…making detailed plans with Bobbie…calling in advance for electricity up there…all kinds of stuff. It’s crazy to think how close this is looming. My parents are already starting to get depressed haha. And for those wondering I still have no money, and yeah, that fact is very scary since the trip and settling in there will do nothing but eat money. But, despite that, I’m going anyway. One thing I’ve realized by living at home is that I can’t not go. I honestly think I fear the spiritual and emotional consequences of staying here more than I do the physical consequences of having to rough it in Canada.



Speaking of Canada, Happy Belated Canada Day to all (yup, I bet you didn’t even know it was Saturday) and Happy Independence Day in advance…


I do not know my plans for tomorrow other than watching fireworks with some church people that night. I do know that I don’t work again til Friday, and I have 2 goals for the rest of this week: Goal #1–take a day for myself and get out of the house! I was thinking the other day, my schedule consists of work, church, and home. Outside the occasional trip to Wal-Mart and church (when I’m not working), I can’t even remember the last time I wore something that wasn’t my hostess uniform out in public. This is not right. I’m starting to not even feel human. So, even though I don’t know what there is to do around here, for my own sanity, I am taking myself out at least for awhile some day this week. So far, the only item on the “my time” agenda is to go to this coffee shop my dad and I went to when we got new driver’s licenses. This coffee shop has a Milky Way (or Mars Bar or something like that) coffee drink that is great. Sitting on their patio, drinking coffee might be a good setting to do a little pursuing of Goal #2, which I’m going to explain a little.


God has been showing me stuff this week. How my environment has shaped me, and how I deal with things. In the latter, I had an epiphany about this summer: there has been a theme to what I’ve been learning.


“. . . the battle is not yours, but God’s.” (2 Chronicles 20:15)


If I’m figuring correctly (this is just from my own matching), the Hebrew phrase looks like this:


 


Me, being the Hebrew freak I am (which is interesting considering I can’t even read it yet), asked Dr. Peacock, a prof at the seminary I’m going to, to help me make sure I was copying it right. I wanted to make sure I got it right because the phrase has struck me to the degree that I’m thinking of eventually…uh…always having it handy (preferably in Hebrew), we’ll just say.  When he interpreted it, the phrase became even more interesting. Literally, it says: “Because not for you the battle because for God.”


It seems simple, but the more I think about it, the more I realize this may just be one of the key concepts to living out the Christian life. Letting God fight is not a matter of me graciously letting Him handle it when I can’t. It’s me realizing that I couldn’t handle anything in the first place. It’s me knowing that in any and every situation, I don’t need to even attempt to fight in my own power. I can simply take it to God. It’s His battle.


When I want to grow in my knowledge of God…
the battle is not mine, but God’s.


When I face criticism for my choice to leave home…
the battle is not mine, but God’s.


When financial deadlines are approaching and no money is in sight…
the battle is not mine, but God’s.


When I want to see people changed by an encounter with Christ…
the battle is not mine, but God’s.


As you can probably tell, you can go a million different ways with just that phrase. I’ve got to admit, even my weak attempt to hang on to that phrase has brought a good bit of comfort in situations where I feel hemmed in. Hopefully it brings you comfort, too. But yeah, that’s Goal #2 for the week: really explore the implications of this idea and maybe write up something (or several somethings) about it.


Have a good week!

2 thoughts on “

  1. I really do love you.
    Know that you are in my prayers.  Not even just when things go wrong, but when things are flying high.  You are so amazing and I can’t wait to hear about how God uses you in Canada.

  2. Michelle! I always enjoy reading your xanga & I’m excited that you’ll be going to Canada in the fall. I’ll be going in January – but had to spend the summer at LC so that I could graduate – sympathizing with the southern summer. I’ll be praying for you…when God calls you to a place, He’ll provide…even when we’re not quite sure how…

Leave a Reply

